“I’m an Adult” and Other Lies I Tell Myself

4 Weeks. That’s it. That is all that’s left of first year.

Can you believe it? I certainly can’t.

I think back to just a few months ago, last August maybe, when my impression of people attending university was that of wisdom and old age. I would think to myself that, ‘they were mature individuals carving their paths, with goals, with career ambitions, and with a bright future’.

With that thought, I look back at me, at us. It had hit me hard when a high school companion of mine, who was a year younger than me, was considering coming to the East Coast to study. She wanted study tips, advice, suggestions, and any ‘wise’ words I had to offer… and I was blank!

Precisely-

Me? I still feel like a child riding her bicycle with the training wheels on; fumbling through life, not knowing when or how to hit the break, working TYRElessly (I will not apologize for that pun 😉 ).

By the end of a quarter of our undergraduate academia, I would’ve thought that I’d everything figured out; that I would know what I want to do, where I want to be in 5 years, and fundamentally, who I am. I can’t even begin to answer those questions now!

As I have contemplated this topic for the past few days, I’ve realized- the questions I am seeking an answer to-can never be answered by asking. They can be answered by doing. It’s time to think outside of the textbooks and involve ourselves with other opportunities, even those that may be only the slightest bit of interest to us! You’ll either love it, or you won’t. You owe it to yourself to at least try!

~~ A large part of knowing what you want to do, is knowing what you don’t want to do ~~

Does that make sense? I’m trying really hard to come up with quotes that someone might put up on Tumblr one day #goals.

But then again-

What I’m trying to get at is that we are still young, let’s embrace it shall we? And the class of 2020 coming in now, they may make us feel like old grandparents deep down inside, but it’s okay! Believe it or not, we got through first year university, however challenging it was, so we probably know and have experienced a lot more than we think!

So when I talked to my high school companion, I told her UofT will challenge her in ways she couldn’t even imagine; I may have scared her. I then told her it was a really friendly, welcoming, and all in all an amazing University (anddddd, I never lie ;)).

 

PS. I hope that owl isn’t scary.

 

Leave a Reply

